Call for Nominations: 2024 Margaret Chase Smith American Democracy Award

PR banner

PHOENIX – The Arizona Department of State is accepting nominations for the 2024 Margaret Chase Smith American Democracy Award. This prestigious accolade is for individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary political courage and exceptional character. Named in honor of the trailblazing U.S. Senator from Maine, Margaret Chase Smith, the award commemorates her brave stand against the McCarthyism of the 1950s, and her commitment to the principles of democracy.

“Help us recognize an individual whose actions reflect the spirit of Senator Smith's legacy,” stated Secretary Fontes. “It is only right to honor those who through their courage and selflessness transform the civic and political life of this era.”

Criteria for nomination include:

  • Open to any individual whose actions demonstrate political courage and character for the common good.
  • Secretary Fontes encourages nominations that highlight contemporary acts of political bravery.
  • A focus on living Americans not currently in elected or appointed office, though exceptions may be considered for outstanding contributions.

Past recipients of the Margaret Chase Smith American Democracy Award include:

2023 - Ms. Laura Wooten, longest-serving poll worker in American history
2022 - Mr. Miguel Trujillo, Native American voting rights activist

To apply or learn more about the nomination process, please click here.



Contact Us
Aaron Thacker
Communications Director