Disclaimer

This office is a filing agency, and we cannot provide legal advice or interpret statutes. Please refer to Arizona Revised Statutes or consult an attorney if you have questions regarding laws that apply to your specific filing.

Department

Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)

Currently, the Secretary of State’s office is accepting both the 2011 and 2023 versions of UCC forms. We will continue to accept the 2011 forms until the relevant statue is changed by the Arizona State Legislature (expected to be sometime in spring of 2024).

hero banner

Effective 4/13/2020 and until further notice we will not offer expedited service on any UCC filings. we will however process your filings as quickly as possible. Thank you in advance for your patience.

Uniform Commercial Code ("UCC") establishes a standard for recording liens across the country. The Secretary of State processes liens which protect financial interests on, for example, consumer goods or commercial equipment.

Each document receives a unique 12-digit filing number assigned by our UCC program, and is available for viewing on our UCC search as public record. That filing number, the debtor name or secured party name can be used to search our website for detailed information regarding the lien filing.

Document to File

  • UCC 1: Financing Statement: creates lien filing in system
  • UCC 1a: Financing Statement Addendum: offers fields for an additional debtor, secured party and collateral
  • UCC 1ap: Financing Statement Additional Party: provides for multiple additional debtors and secured parties
  • UCC 3: Financing Statement Amendment: amends previously filed liens
  • UCC 3a: Financing Statement Amendment Addendum: offers fields for additional collateral
  • UCC 3ap: Financing Statement Amendment Additional Party: adds additional debtors and secured parties
  • UCC 11: Search Request: provides copies of liens, certified copies or listing of debtors by name or lien number
  • UCC 5: Information Request (Correction Statement): allows debtor or secured party to dispute a filing

Filing Fee

  • UCC 1: $9
  • UCC 1a: none, must be submitted with completed UCC 1
  • UCC 1ap: none, must be submitted with completed UCC 1
  • UCC 3: $9 for continuations, assignments, and any amendments.
  • UCC 3: $2 for terminations only
  • UCC 3a: none, must be submitted with completed UCC 3
  • UCC 3ap: none, must be submitted with completed UCC 3
  • UCC 11: Pricing varies upon search requested
  • UCC 5: $9

Please Note: No cash or credit card payments accepted for over the counter filings. Must pay by check or money order.

Filing Length: Standard liens are effective for 5 years. Tax, Restitution, Racketeering, and Utility liens do not expire.

Processing Time: 5 business days from receipt.

  • Our office will not return a filed document unless you include a prepaid return envelope.
  • Our office does not require acknowledgment copies.
  • Certified UCC search results cannot be acquired on our public search website. All filings will be watermarked "uncertified".
  • If you have any questions, please call us at 602-542-6187 or 1-800-458-5842 or email us.

Filing By Mail

Secretary of State
Attn: UCC Dept.
1700 W. Washington Street, Fl. 7
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2808

In-Person Filing - Phoenix Office

State Capitol Executive Tower
1700 W. Washington Street
Suite 220

In-Person Filing - Tucson Office

Arizona State Complex Building
400 West Congress
First Floor, Suite 141

Contact Business Services

Office of the Secretary of State
Business Services Division
1700 W Washington St Fl 7
Phoenix AZ 85007-2808

602-542-6187
1-800-458-5842